Alwyn Roshan Pais

  • National Merit Scholarship, Govt of India, 1989-1995
  • QIP fellowship, MHRD, Govt of India, 2002-04
  • ISEA-Travel Fellowship, MCIT-New Delhi, 2007, 2009
  • Best Paper Award, ICIP-2010, Bangalore
  • Best Paper Award, SECURWARE 2011, France
  • Marqus whos’ who 2011
  • Best Paper Award, CSI-Convention-2011.


  • Gold Medal from National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal
  • Best paper  award
  • “Certificate of Achievement” awarded to the coach during the  ACM International Collegiate Programming Contests
  • Senior Member IEEE,  Senior Member ACM

Basavaraj Talawar

  • Organized Academic Birds of Feather Session at HiPC 2014

Jeny Rajan

  • Ph.D Research Fellowship, University of Antwerp, Belgium, 2009.
  • Technology Breakthrough Award 2007, from NeST, Technopark, Trivandrum, India (for the development of BrainAssist – a State-of-the-art tool for Brain Tumor Analysis).
  • Innovative Student Projects Award 2006. (Best Thesis Award, M.Tech. Level) from the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), New Delhi, India.

K. Chandra Sekaran

  • Member of Editorial Board, IEEE Transactions on CLOUD Computing
  • Member of IEEE Cloud Computing STC
  • TCTP (Indo-British Award) in 1995 – Visiting LMU, UK
  • Best Paper Awards in International Conferences
  • Best Teacher Awards

Mohit P. Tahiliani

  • Recieved EMC Young Achiever Awards 2015 from EMC Corporation, February 2015.
  • Reviewer for IEEE Communication Letters.
  • Member of Technical Programme Committee, 6th Workshop on ns-3 (WNS3 2015), CTTC, Barcelona, Spain.
  • Member of Technical Programme Committee, 5th Workshop on ns-3 (WNS3 2014), Georgia Tech, USA.
  • Reviewer for Journal of Network and Computer Applications (JNCA), Elsevier.
  • Best Paper Award in International Symposium on Cloud and Service Computing, 2012.
  • Gold medalist in M.Tech, 2009.
  • Received Best Student – 2008 Award, EMC Corporation, Bangalore, 2009.

P. Santhi Thilagam

  • BITES Best PhD Thesis Award for the year 2009 in the category of "Computer Science & Engineering", 2010.
  • Best paper award : “EfficientTreeMiner: Mining Frequent Induced Substructures from XML Documents without Candidate Generation“, In the Proc. of 14th International conference on Advanced Computing and Communication (ADCOM-2006), pp: 541- 546, Dec 2006, India.
  • Best paper award: “Extraction and optimization of Fuzzy association rules using Multi-objective Genetic Algorithm”, In the Proc. of International Conference on Bioinformatics and diabetes melitus (ICBDM 2006), pp: 121-128, March 2006.
  • The UG Project entitled ”Communication between PC and Bluetooth Enabled Devices” by Raghuveer Y. Talekar & Siddu B. Yalawar guided by me had been nominated for National Award for Best UG projects - 2005.
  • Best paper award : ”A Hybrid load balancing solution based on the concept of packet rewriting”, National Conference on Advanced Computing 2003, India.
  • A Team of B.Tech Students ( mlm_hack_you ) has won the 2nd place in SCTF 2012, a national level capture the flag style hacking contest, International Conference on Security Internet Things, Aug 17-19, 2012, Amrita University - Faculty Mentor.
Saumya Hegde

  • Best Paper Award - ICACEA2014, Delhi.
Shashidhar G Koolagudi

  • Best Paper Award in ADCONS '13
Swapan Bhattacharya

  • Award of Sr. Research Associateship (1999-2001) from National Research Council, USA
  • Young Scientist Award from UNESCO in 1989
  • Gold Medal from Univ. of Calcutta, India in 1976
  • ET Now Education Leadership Award in 2013

Contact us

Dr. Manu Basavaraju
Head of the Department
Department of CSE, NITK, Surathkal
P. O. Srinivasnagar, Mangalore - 575 025
Karnataka, India.
Hot line: +91-0824-2474053
Email: hodcse[AT]nitk[DOT]ac[DOT]in


Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.